Evergreen Claims Top Honors in Dallas Morning News Contest


Eliza Lamster, Staff Writer

The Evergreen was named best newspaper for the second consecutive year in the Dallas Morning News’ 2021 High School Journalism Competition.

Evergreen staffers also won top honors in the editorial writing and sports reporting categories.

The contest has recognized local student news organizations in a variety of categories ranging from sports reporting to feature photography for thirty years. This year’s winners from the pool of 24 schools and almost 500 entries were announced on May 4th.

“The Greenhill School newspaper staff did not shy away from deeply reporting news events such as the pandemic, the 2020 presidential election, and social justice with a student-focused lens,” wrote one judge.

Print editor-in-chief Leah Nutkis won the award for editorial writing for a piece advocating stricter enforcement of pandemic protocols on campus. Junior Saara Bidiwala received recognition as the Evergreen’s most valuable staffer.

Freshmen Payton Blalock and Emma Hoffman and sophomore Ava Iwasko were the winners in sports reporting.

The Evergreen had five finalists: sophomore Isabel Martinez, Best Pandemic Coverage; senior Sarah Luan, Commentary; senior Lane Herbert and junior Avery Franks, Sports Feature; senior Raag Venkat, Sports Feature; and sophomores Nate Stitt and Valerie Xu, News Reporting.